Reduce, Reuse, Recycle…!!

Before I start writing anything on this stinky topic, for strange reason it reminds me of those “Nostril Shots” cocktails I had in EDEN lounge few years back with my friends. Maybe because both has something to do with your nostrils. 😀 Only difference is one turns you on while the other turns you off.

Yes, I am talking about the Garbage issue in Kathmandu. For the 62nd time(and I repeat 62nd time), the KMC is unable to collect the the wastage from Kathmandu. Reason..? Same old same ..protest from the locals at dumping site because the government failed to come in term with their past demands.

Its funny (nor not) how time and again the city dwellers have to go through the lumps of garbage  everyday while going to the office, school, dating whatever. Its has been so much in practice that we have even stopped noticing it anymore. I guess, an easy solution to escape away the problems of life is to ignore it or even better blame it on somebody else – the government, KMC or those people at the dumping sites who protest out of the blue. But that does not change the reality. The reality that WE ARE ALL RESPONSIBLE for this. We did this to ourselves and still doing it.

Its time we start caring for our city. We need to save it instead of being a watchdog. There are many ways we can doing something to create less trash. The other day I was listening to Jack Johnson’s song 3 R’s and he puts it in a very easy way to start helping by Reducing, Reusing and Recycling. He sings:

“Well, if you’re going to the market to buy some juice
You’ve got to bring your own bags and you learn to reduce your waste,
And if your brother or your sister’s got some cool clothes
You could try them on before you buy some more of those
Reuse, we’ve got to learn to reuse
And if the first two R’s don’t work out
And if you’ve got to make some trash
Don’t throw it out
Recycle, we’ve got to learn to recycle,”

Lets stand up for ourselves and follow the 3 R’s for a better Kathmandu..!! 🙂

One thought on “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle…!!

  1. I have to say, every time I come to meengma.wordpress.com you have another interesting article up to read. A friend of mine was telling me about this topic a couple weeks ago. I think I’ll e-mail my friend the url here and see what they say.

Leave a Reply

