Its fake..!

People have funny sense of humor and sometimes its not even funny. I was waiting for somebody to arrive in Sherpa Mall having my usual “Latte” when I got a sms which read “There was a nuclear blast 4:30pm Sunday in Fukushima Japan. If it rains today or in the next few days, DO NOT GO UNDER THE RAIN. If you get caughtout, use an umbrella or raincoat, even if it’s only a drizzle. Radioactive particles, which may cause burns, alopecia or even cancer, may be in the rain. Spread this message plz.” I promptly copied it into my facebook status because I was out there with no access to the internet to cross check the reliability of the message. It was a matter of public concern and I thought I should let others know as well. I was however having second thoughts about the message being a scam when one of my friend replied with this link, I quickly deleted my status and swore myself for the stupidity I had just performed. And like Shakespeare says it I felt guilty for “Stuffing the ears of men with false reports.”

I just received an email message from one of the UN office and I thought was necessary to share with all about the fake message that has travelled all the way from Japan to so many other countries including Nepal to let one and all know that the message is fake and there is no need to worry about the radiation as of now.

Statement from WHO concerning rumours of radiation spread from Japanese nuclear facilities

Rumours have been circulating by text messaging and other means of a radiation cloud spreading across Asia and beyond from the damaged nuclear facilities in Japan.

The World Health Organization (WHO) would like to assure governments and members of the public that there is no evidence at this time of any significant international spread from the nuclear site.

Governments and members of the public are encouraged to take steps to halt these rumours, which are harmful to public morale.

Latest information on the health implications of developments at the nuclear plants can be found at http://www.who.int/en/ and http://www.wpro.who.int/.

Please also read the following pdf file for more information and pass the message around to all.

BASICS OF RADIATION AND RADIATION PROTECTION: basics of rad

Japan Nuclear Concerns – FAQs: FAQ-Japan

2 thoughts on “Its fake..!

  1. Yeah, it’s fake. Yesterday early in the morning, I’ve seen ‘BBC Flash News’ in Facebook. Friends are sharing it, because its a issue of public interest.

    Then, I’ve tried to check authenticity of that news, there is no any word in BBC, neither in any other international media such as nytimes, cnn… but one blog from Philippines said, Philippines Government is going to defend this message publicly . Then I believed that was just a fake message. Then I just blogged it as, ‘hoax’ .

    And also my experience says,’Please pass it’ type news have do not scientific background…

    Anyway, its glad that message is fake, and situation is under-control.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

