Beware…be very aware..!!

Have you received an email from any random person lately asking for your help to move some million dollars from their country to another and that they will pay you some percentage upon helping them to do so?? or even that email stating that you just won a certain million in some jackpot and asking to email back with your account details. Now, who wouldn’t want couple of thousand dollars for just helping somebody or even knowing that you won a jackpot. But hold on that adrenaline rush upon receiving such email because, let’s face it – FORTUNE DOES NOT COME THAT EASY. If it did, we all would be millionaires.

Most of us who are a regular with the internet know for the fact that they are scammers out there, phishing and trust me, you don’t want to be the fish. And if you don’t already know how the whole phishing scam takes place, here is how the process goes on.

Step 1: You receive an email which looks genuine, only- its not. You are tempted to reply and why not, they are talking about million of dollar here.

Step 2: You reply to them and they reply back. They will ask for your account details which you will naively forward them and with contact details. They will get in touch with you and make you believe that they are actually real. The communication will become a regular thing with them taking your full assurance.

Step 3: They are now ready to transfer the amount to you. BUT, there is little problem. Since its a huge amount of dollar, they will need the transfer fee and they cannot pay for it since they are under government scrutiny.

Step 4: They will ask you to send some dollars to them instead as a bank charges to pay for the transfer. You somehow manage to get the funds to their mention address. And what happens??? Well..you never hear from them again. END OF STORY AND YOUR MONEY.

NOW, this is a regular thing. The scammers have done this for centuries and many have become their victim. With the internet and power of information their beans have been spilled but I must say these guys are pretty innovative on what they do. I recently came across something that happened to someone I know and this is really interesting.

So, she received an email from a guy which reads

Hello,
I am doing well here, everything is great. My life is awesome and my job is beautiful, having understanding friends who keep me going. How about you? Hopefully everything is just fine and happening the way what you expected them to be.You really look nice, just what I’m looking for! How about we get to know each other a bit better and see what will happen. I want to tell you about my fate when feeling are so powerful it’s as if some force beyond my control is guiding me to someone who can make me happy beyond my wildest dreams.You may want to tell me some more about yourself in the area of religion, and what you will like to get out of this friendship assuming it grows positively… well about me

To start about myself, I am Steven martin going to be 44 next year, living and working in London,England. My father Pass way and Mum is in Baja California, Mexico, born as British .I am working as a mining Engineer in AMEC England. I have work for 12 years. working so much without having much time for myself most of my time spent in offshore and I just enjoy it though it’s very tiring. I love to chill out with my friends during weekends, go to mall, watching football and once in six months I will going to my Mum’s house in Mexico to visit her and take my nieces and nephews for outing.

I am a Man who is hilariously funny, understanding, energetic,spontaneous and stone headed but very soft heated. I also a man with very strong principle and always try to take my religion along with me, wherever I go, whenever it is and with whoever I am. I respect different religion exist in this world because they hold similar teachings which brings peace to everyone and makes you a better man. It sounds a little boring …well that’s how I am when it comes into serious matter. I will tell you more about me as soon as you tell me a bit about you.

Finally, I will wait for life time for your response and please do not hurry to write me because I know we all lead a busy life, so please take your time and write me when you have the chance to do so.

Regards
Steve Martin

I just went through the website of AMEC England but there is no one with that name. (and why am I not surprised???)
Now, if you go by the email, it looks as if there can be no better guy that this, right? She didn’t know about all these scams going around so she replied to him. For those wondering, that was STEP 1. Now, there was regular communication and one fine day, out of no where the guy decides to send her some gift. Apparently, the gift is stuck somewhere in Malaysia’s cargo and she gets a call from Malaysia informing her about it. Okay STEP 3 now. The Malaysian cargo company(the scammers again) call her constantly about the parcel and informs that she has to send some USD 1200 in order to receive the parcel. Nope, she hasn’t sent any money yet. Upon asking the guy(STEVE), he mentions that he sent some GBP15000..hahahaha..that too for some investment. Now, would any idiot send such amount of money to anybody whom they haven’t even met???? He even asked her to go to Malaysia to receive the parcel directly. Nope, she hasn’t send any money and I hope she won’t and hopefully she will stop talking to him since we have explained her the whole scenario.
Everyone out there need to be very careful with whom they get in touch with. The internet is a good thing but there are rats out there who will leave no chance to make holes in your pocket and possibly in your life as well.
Appearance can be deceptive.
 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

His picture he sent to her.
3 thoughts on “Beware…be very aware..!!

Leave a Reply

